The Global Commission on Drug policy aims to bring to the international level an informed, science-based discussion about humane and effective ways to reduce the harm caused by drugs to people and society. It is composed of a number of high level policy officials, including among others former president of Brazil, Fernando Henrique Cardoso, former president of Colombia, Cesar Gaviria, former UN Secretary General, Kofi Annan, former EU High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy, Javier Solana, and UNAIDS Executive Director, Michel Kazatchkine.

The Global Commission will present its conclusions to the UN Secretary General Ban Ki Moon in New York, on 2 June. The event will be accompanied by a major international campaign led by Avaaz, which aims to gather 500,000 signatures for its new petition 'End the war on drugs!' by 2 June.

IDPC has been actively supportive of the work of the Global Commission since its inception.

Full list of commissioners

Asma Jahangir - human rights activist, former UN Special Rapporteur on Arbitrary, Extrajudicial and Summary Executions, Pakistan

Carlos Fuentes - writer and public intellectual, Mexico

César Gaviria - former President of Colombia

Ernesto Zedillo - former President of México

Fernando Henrique Cardoso - former President of Brazil (chair)

George Papandreou - Prime Minister of Greece

George Shultz - former Secretary of State, United States (honorary chair)

Javier Solana - former European Union High Representative for the Common Foreign and Security Policy, Spain

John Whitehead - banker and civil servant, chair of the World Trade Center Memorial, United States

Kofi Annan - former Secretary General of the United Nations, Ghana

Louise Arbour - former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, president of the International Crisis Group, Canada

Maria Cattaui - Member of the Board, Petroplus Holdings; former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce, Switzerland

Marion Caspers-Merk - former State Secretary at the German Federal Ministry of Health, Germany

Mario Vargas Llosa - writer and public intellectual, Peru

Michel Kazatchkine - executive director of the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, France

Paul Volcker - former Chairman of the US Federal Reserve and of the Economic Recovery Board, US

Richard Branson - entrepreneur, advocate for social causes, founder of the Virgin Group, cofounder of The Elders, United Kingdom

Ruth Dreifuss - former President of Switzerland and Minister of Home Affairs

Thorvald Stoltenberg - former Minister of Foreign Affairs and UN High Commissioner for Refugees, Norway


Bernardo Sorj

Ilona Szabó de Carvalho

Miguel Darcy de Oliveira

Keep up-to-date with drug policy developments by subscribing to the IDPC Monthly Alert.