By the Robert Carr Fund

Mark your calendars for "Funding What's Possible": Robert Carr Fund Satellite Session during AIDS2022

Join the RCF in celebrating 10 years of supporting regional and global civil society and community-led networks in the HIV response.

July 29th 2022

7:45 – 8:45 AM Montreal

12.45 – 13.45 PM London

13.45 – 14.45 PM Amsterdam & Cape Town

18.45 – 19.45 PM Bangkok

Room 517b/Channel 4 online

10 years ago, funders, UNAIDS, and civil society partners came together to launch the Robert Carr Fund at the AIDS2012 conference in Washington D.C. The Fund was designed to bridge a funding gap and provide sustainable, multi-year support for regional and global HIV networks.

Today, RCF is the world’s leading international fund focused on supporting the critical role of civil society and community-led networks in the HIV response.

Please join our founding members, strategic partners, funders, and grantee partners in celebrating the Fund’s 10th anniversary and its legacy of investing in communities.

Moderators

  • Mark Vermeulen, Executive Director, Aidsfonds
  • Carolyn Carr, Sister of Robert Carr.

Opening Remarks

  • Tian Johnson, Head, African Alliance & Civil Society Observer on the RCF International Steering Committee.

Panel 1: Looking back at the legacy of the Robert Carr Fund

  • Kate Thomson, co-founder of the Robert Carr Fund.
  • State Secretary Bjørg Sandkjær, Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Founding donor of the Robert Carr Fund.
  • The Rt Hon Amanda Milling, Minister for Asia and the Middle East, Government of the United Kingdom. Founding donor of the Robert Carr Fund.
  • Geoff Garnet, Deputy Director, HIV Global and Country Partner Programs. Founding donor of the Robert Carr Fund.

Panel 2: Extraordinary people undertaking extraordinary efforts in extraordinary times

  • Ganna Dovbakh, Executive Director, Eurasian Harm Reduction Association.
  • Sasha Gaye Shaw, Technical Program Officer, Caribbean Vulnerable Communities Coalition.
  • Tinashe Rufurwadzo, Director of Programmes, Management and Governance, Global Network of Young People Living with HIV.
  • Sandy Thurman, Senior Advisor on Community Engagement Representative of PEPFAR

Closing remarks

  • Peter Carr, father of Robert Carr

This event will showcase 10 years of supporting global and regional civil society and community-led networks, reflect on the value of its participatory funding model, and highlight what community-led networks have achieved and can achieve in the future for the HIV response when provided with long-term core support.

Refreshments and anniversary favors will be offered (first come, first served).

RSVP at secretariat@robertcarrfund.org