The International Narcotics Control Board (INCB) opened its 125th session on 6 May 2019 in Vienna.

On May 8th, 2019, the Board held elections for officers for the coming year, which were as follows:

  • Cornelis P. de Joncheere, President 
  • Wei Hao, First Vice-President 
  • David T. Johnson, Second Vice-President and Chair of the Standing Committee on Estimates
  • H. H. Sevil Atasoy, Rapporteur 
  • Galina A. Korchagina, Vice-Chair of the Standing Committee on Estimates 
  • Jagjit Pavadia, Chair of the Committee on Finance and Administration.

IDPC sends its congratulations to the new INCB President. Mr. Cornelis P. de Joncheere.

Mr de Joncheere is a Dutch citizen and has expertise in pharmacy and health sciences. He was previously Director of the Department of Essential Medicines and Health Products at the World Health Organization (2012-2016), where his work included access to controlled medicines and the Expert Committee on Drug Dependence. He has been a member of the INCB since 2017.