国际人权体系由以下人权机构组成:

  • 人权理事会:成立于2006年,前身是联合国人权委员会。它是联合国大会的主要人权机构。人权理事会负责向联合国大会报告工作,每年召开3次会议,会期不少于3周。人权理事会还承担“普遍定期审查”职能,根据这一制度,所有联合国成员国必须向其他成员国报告其履行人权义务的情况。
  • 特别程序:人权理事会可以就某专题任务或国别任务任命独立专家或特别报告员。包括:健康权问题特别报告员,酷刑问题特别报告员。
  • 人权事务高级专员办事处:与联合国药物和犯罪问题办公室同属联合国秘书处下属机构,负责协助各国履行人权义务,让人权融入联合国系统的工作中。
  • 人权条约机构:联合国各人权条约授权成立的独立委员会,负责监督条约的履行,及解释条款内容。

虽然所有人权条约都和药物政策有关系,但却很少有人权条约专门提到药物。事实上,人权法律在 药物政策中的适用,以及将禁毒问题列为人权专题问题的探讨都是近期才出现的。过去,药物政策和人权政策被视为是毫不相干的问题,前联合国健康权事务特别报告员,Paul Hunt教授还说它们是“平行的宇宙”。

尽管如此,药物政策和人权之间还是有许多关联的。由禁毒引发的侵犯人权事件在世界各地都有记录,包括:

  • 侵犯生命权。对涉毒罪行处以死刑,或法外实施剥夺生命的刑罚。
  • 侵犯自由权。对药物使用者任意拘禁,施以酷刑,或残酷的、不人道的、或侮辱性的待遇或刑罚,或以药物治疗的名义施加虐待。
  • 侵犯健康权。限制基本药物的获取,包括用于治疗 药物依赖的美沙酮。
  • 侵犯社会及经济权利。强制根除种植作物;
  • 侵犯不受歧视的权利。对少数民族、原住民、青年人和妇女制订歧视性的法律强制措施。

2008年,联合国大会宣布:“应对世界 药物问题……必须遵守联合国宪章及其他国际法律的宗旨和原则,特别是要尊重人权和基本的自由。”

但是,在联合国内部,人权与药物政策之间一直存在很大的断层。一边是联合国禁毒机构忽视人权,奋力的在为实现“无 药物的社会”而努力,另一边是人权机构无视药物政策存在的问题。现在情况渐渐有了改观,联合国人权机构,如联合国酷刑事务特别报告员和健康权事务特别报告员,已经开始向各国政府呼吁,不要以禁毒的名义侵害人权。但是,联合国禁毒机构仍不愿意在其政策和计划中牵扯人权问题。

IDPC一方面致力于提高有关人权机构对药物政策的重视,另一方面,提高禁毒行动对人权的重视。IDPC在人权事务领域是一个重要的沟通桥梁。

The international human rights system is constituted of the following human rights bodies:

  • The Human Rights Council: Established in 2006 to replace the Commission on Human Rights, it is the main political human rights body within the UN. The Council meets for at least three weeks, three times a year and reports to the General Assembly. The Council also conducts the Universal Periodic Review system, whereby each UN member state must report to other states on how it has implemented its human rights obligations.
  • The Special Procedures: The Human Rights Council can establish independent expert bodies or individuals with either a country specific or a thematic mandate. These include the Special Rapporteur on the Right to Health, the Special Rapporteur on Torture, etc.
  • The Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights: a sister department to UNODC within the UN Secretariat, responsible for both assisting countries with the implementation of their human rights obligations and for mainstreaming human rights within the UN system.
  • Human rights treaty bodies: these are independent committees established under each UN human rights treaty to oversee their implementation and assist in the interpretation of their provisions.

While all human rights treaties are relevant to drug policy, very few specifically refer to drugs. In fact, the application of human rights law to drug policy and the consideration of drug control as a thematic area of human rights concern are relatively recent developments. Traditionally, these branches of law and policy have been considered practically detached from each other, leading the former UN Special Rapporteur for the Right to Health, Professor Paul Hunt, to describe them as “parallel universes”. 

Nevertheless, the intersections between drug policy and human rights are many. Human rights abuses resulting from drug control are now well documented all over the world, and include: 

  • The violation of the right to life with the use of the death penalty or extrajudicial killings for drug offences;
  • The violation of the right to freedom from torture or cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment with the arbitrary detention of people who use drugs and abuses taking place in the name of drug treatment;
  • The violation of the right to health, because of restricted access to essential medicines, including methadone to treat drug dependence;
  • The violation of social and economic rights, due to forced crop eradication campaigns;
  • The violation of the right to freedom from discrimination, with discriminatory drug law enforcement towards ethnic minorities, indigenous groups, young people and women.

In 2008, the UN General Assembly declared: ‘Countering the world drug problem... must be carried out in full conformity with the purposes and principles of the Charter of the United Nations and other provisions of international law, and in particular with full respect for... all human rights and fundamental freedoms’.

Despite this statement, there has traditionally been a striking lack of coherence within the United Nations about the interrelation between human rights and drug policy. While UN drug control bodies have tended to ignore human rights principles in their efforts to achieve a ‘drug free society’, human rights agencies have paid little attention to drug policy issues. The situation is slowly improving, as UN human rights agencies, such as the UN Special Rapporteur on Torture and the Special Rapporteur on the Right to Health, are starting to call on governments not to jeopardise human rights in the name of drug control. The UN drug control agencies, however, are still reluctant to include the dimension of human rights in their policies and programmes.

IDPC works both to increase the attention paid to drug policy with relevant human rights bodies, and to human rights in the drug control system. IDPC works as a focal point for communication in the domain of human rights.