药物使用者非常容易暴露在如艾滋病病毒、乙肝、丙型肝炎等经血液传播、性传播的病毒的危害中。许多国家的注射 药物使用者,因共用注射器具,极大的提高了艾滋病病毒的传播几率,导致疫情的快速扩散。

据估算,全球有1590万注射吸毒者分布在158个国家,这些国家基本都是中低收入水平国家。10%的艾滋病病毒是经由 药物注射传播,据此推算,全球至少有330万注射吸毒者是艾滋病病毒感染者或艾滋病人。妇女、青少年、流浪者、刚开始注射吸毒的人群和囚犯都是易感染艾滋的群体。

在有些地方,如西欧大部分地区、澳大利亚和新西兰,艾滋病病毒在注射吸毒者之间的传播率一直控制在5%以下(查看全文)。而在另一些国家,如阿根廷、巴西、爱沙尼亚、印度尼西亚、肯尼亚、缅甸、尼泊尔和泰国,艾滋病病毒在注射吸毒者间的传播率高达40%甚至更高。在加勒比地区、美国和拉丁美洲,已有证据表明,非注射吸毒,如吸食可卡因,与艾滋病病毒的性传播之间存在关联。

减低伤害”是指特定的政策和项目,目的是减低因使用管制药物导致的健康、社会和经济伤害。减低伤害是落实公共健康和人权原则的一项内容,以务实的态度解决与 药物使用有关的各种问题,不做道德评判。减低伤害还蕴含一个重要认识,即减小 药物市场、减少 药物使用不是 药物政策的的唯一或者最重要的目标。个人和社区应当获得信息和方法,以减少因 药物使用造成的危害。

许多干预行动都属于减低伤害的范畴。包括:减低 药物伤害知识的宣传(通常借助同伴组织的外展活动开展)、为 药物使用者提供增加安全性的服务,如针具及注射器交换项目,安全的注射工具、各种药物依赖治疗方法,包括提供阿片依赖治疗的替代药物、心理学干预或互助小组。针对增加危害、阻碍减低伤害行动开展或发挥作用、影响 药物使用者接受健康服务的法律、法规、政策,减低伤害行动还呼吁对其进行改革。

从20世纪80年代时起,社区和一些政府开始通过减低伤害的方法,控制不断蔓延的艾滋疫情在 药物使用者中的扩散。今天,减低伤害行动在世界93个国家和地区得到了支持。

尽管减低伤害的理念得到了广泛的认可,但在一些国际论坛上,这一议题仍存在争议性。许多国际机构赞同并支持这一理念,它们通过提供技术和资金,支持世界各地的政府和公民社会开展减低伤害项目。这些国际机构当中就包括联合国艾滋病规划署和人权理事会。然而,联合国麻醉药物委员会内部就减低伤害仍未达成共识,2009年发布的《 药物问题政治宣言》中并没有提减低伤害。26个国家对这一宣言投了反对票,因为它们认为,宣言文本中提到的“有关支持服务”就是指减低伤害。2010年3月,经过深入的讨论,联合国麻醉药物委员会再次拒绝将减低伤害纳入其一项关于艾滋病服务普遍可及的决议中。其他 药物控制机构,特别是国际麻醉药物管制委员会,至今一直对这一概念存在相当局限的理解,也不承认部分减低伤害行动的合法性。而联合国药物和犯罪问题办公室则试图将这一概念扩大,以将执法措施纳入减低伤害。但由于概念过于宽泛,使得这一概念几乎不具有任何意义。

People who use drugs are often at increased vulnerability to a variety of harms, including blood-borne and sexually transmitted viruses such as HIV, or hepatitis B and C. The sharing of injecting equipment provides a highly effective transmission route for HIV and has resulted in the rapid expansion of the epidemic among people who inject drugs in many countries.

There are an estimated 15.9 million people that inject drugs living in 158 countries around the world, primarily in low and middle income countries. Up to 10% of all HIV infections occur through injecting drug use, meaning that globally, there may be up to 3.3 million people who inject drugs that are living with HIV.  Women, young people, street-involved people, new injectors and prisoners are particularly vulnerable to HIV. 

In some areas, such as much of Western Europe, as well as Australia and New Zealand, the prevalence of HIV infection among people who inject drugs remains below 5% (read more). At the other extreme, in countries such as Argentina, Brazil, Estonia, Indonesia, Kenya, Myanmar, Nepal and Thailand, the prevalence of HIV infection has reached 40% or higher among people who inject.  There is also evidence of a link between non-injecting drug use, such as crack cocaine smoking, and sexual HIV transmission, in the Caribbean, the USA and Latin America.

The term ‘harm reduction’ refers to policies and programmes aimed at reducing the health, social and economic harms associated with the use of controlled substances. Harm reduction is entrenched in both public health and human rights rationales, and takes a pragmatic and non-judgemental approach to addressing the problems associated with drug use. Importantly, harm reduction involves the recognition that the overall reduction of the scale of drug markets and use is not the only, or even the most important, objective of drug policy. Individuals and communities must therefore be provided with information and tools for reducing the risks associated with drug use.

A variety of interventions fall into the category of harm reduction. These include the dissemination of information on how to reduce risks associated with drug use (often through peer-led outreach), the provision of services which increase the safety of people who use drugs such as needle and syringe exchange programmes and safer injecting facilities, and a range of drug dependence treatment options including the medical provision of substitution for opiate dependence, psychosocial interventions or mutual aid groups. Harm reduction approaches also seek to identify and advocate for changes in laws, regulations and policies that increase harms or that hinder the introduction or efficacy of harm reduction interventions and health services for people who use drugs.

It was in the 1980s that harm reduction approaches started to be adopted by communities and a number of governments in response to the growing HIV epidemics among drug using populations. Today, harm reduction is supported by ninety-three countries and territories across every continent of the world.

Despite this widespread recognition of the concept of harm reduction, the term remains controversial in certain international forums. The concept is endorsed and promoted by a number of international agencies which provide technical and financial support to governments and civil society for harm reduction initiatives across the world. This includes UNAIDS and the Human Rights Council. Within the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND), however, there is a lack of consensus on harm reduction, as the term was omitted from the new 10 Year Political Declaration on Drugs in 2009. Twenty-six states registered their objection to this by lodging a statement that the term ‘related support services’ used in the document would be interpreted by them to mean harm reduction. In March 2010, the CND refused once again to include harm reduction in its resolution on universal access to HIV services, after considerable debate. Other drug control agencies, particularly the INCB, have been – and continue to be – highly restrictive in their understanding of the term and in their interpretation of the legality of some of its practices. On the other hand, the UNODC has sought to extend the term to include law enforcement measures and, by making it too inclusive, has rendered it virtually meaningless.