鸦片、海洛因、吗啡、可卡因等毒品原植物,基本上都栽种在最不发达的国家,这些地区常年爆发武装冲突,政治很不稳定,种毒农民都只能依靠土地生存。过去为了阻止毒品向外运输,就对毒品作物实施强制性铲除(如罂粟和古柯植物)。为了对付这种压制手段,农民就迁移到更偏远的地方栽种毒品,这样一来,给环境造成了很大的破坏。而且,农民不得不被迫迁徙,同时贫困、饥饿、武装冲突也不断加剧。而这些毒品作物却又死灰复燃。

取代这种压制手段的一个办法就是鼓励农民种植其他作物。起初人们设计的方案就是简单的进行作物替换(即鼓励或迫使农民不再种植罂粟或古柯,改为种植合法作物)。后来,经验证明,要有效且持续的推行这一方案,还需要对其进行充实。这一方案通常被称为“替代种植”。在过去十年里,人们从罂粟和古柯种植地区吸取了经验教训。经验证明,替代种植能够解决农村的需求,并能够抑制非法作物的种植。

替代种植措施的实施,意味着禁毒行动与总体发展方向相一致,并符合协调一致的原则。这一措施的实施需要经过合理的计划和安排。要使农民和他们的家人不再依靠种植非法毒品作物生存,必须首先为他们提供各种必须物资,如:贷款和资本、安全和保护措施、便利商品流通的道路及交通设施等(需要注意的是,以上这些服务大多也是贩毒者为农民提供的,如:武装保护、种子供应、信贷措施)。在那些把铲除毒品作物或征收赋税作为消灭毒品唯一办法的国家,替代种植措施就很容易失败。替代种植措施的成功实施,需要明智的政府以及社会、卫生、教育服务的支持。

IDPC建议,为了减少非法毒品作物,应当无条件的帮助农民开展替代种植,通过制订合理有序的计划,帮助小农经济家庭获得合理的、稳定的收入,确保不采取铲除作物的手段。农民自己的组织应当得到承认,而且它们有权参与本国政府、资助方以及联合国发起的不同层次的论坛和决策过程。替代性的干预行动应当与人权保护、定纷止争、扶贫济困、人类安全的目标一致,同时尊重传统文化和价值。

The crops which form the plant base for the production of opium, heroin, morphine and cocaine are predominantly cultivated by subsistence farmers in some of the most under-developed areas of the planet. These regions are usually the sites of ongoing armed conflicts and political instability. Traditional attempts to stem the flow of drugs from such zones have concentrated on the forced eradication of drug crops such as opium poppy and the coca plant. This has led to displacement effects: in response to repressive measures, the growers have simply moved their crops into new and more remote areas, often resulting in environmental damage. Great hardship has resulted from this, including forced migration, poverty, starvation, and an exacerbation of armed conflicts. Meanwhile, the crops have continued to be cultivated.

An alternative to this repressive approach involves encouraging the farmers to grow other crops. Originally conceived as simple crop substitution programmes (farmers were encouraged or compelled to grow a licit crop instead of poppy or coca), experience has shown that a broader conception is necessary if the process is to be effective and sustainable. This approach is usually referred to as “alternative development.” Over the past decade, there has been considerable progress in understanding the impact and lessons learned through rural development in opium poppy and coca growing areas. Experience has shown that alternative development can address the needs of targeted rural communities, and can contribute to a reduction in illicit crops.

Effective alternative development involves integrating drug control imperatives into the mainstream development agenda, which adheres to the principle of system wide coherence. The process must also be properly sequenced. This means that to enable farmers and their dependants to end their reliance on cultivating illicit drug crops, a number of provisions must be put in place first: for example, credit and finance, security and protection, road and transport systems to allow goods to be taken to market, and so on (It will be noted that many of these are the services that traffickers provide to small farmers: armed protection, supplies of seeds, credit facilities). In those regions where the presence of the state is confined to crop destruction or the payment of ‘taxes’ to avoid it, alternative development measures have tended to fail. Good governance, social, health and educational support services are necessary for alternative development to work.

IDPC advocates to make development assistance unconditional on reductions in illicit crops, ensure that no eradication is carried out unless small-farmer households have adopted viable and sustainable livelihoods, and interventions are properly sequenced. Producers' organisations should be recognised, should take part in debates and decision making at all levels, with their own governments, donors and the United Nations. Interventions should comply with the aims of human rights protection, conflict resolution, poverty alleviation, human security and respect for traditional culture and values.