IDPC使命的一个重要组成部分是直接影响和支持其成员参与在全球的层面,尤其是在联合国和其它多边机构中的讨论和决定的过程。

全球毒品控制框架已经有100多年的历史了。该框架传统上一直坚持于严厉的“毒品战争”的论调,严峻的法律执行和严酷的惩罚。但是现在有很广泛的认识(包括在联合国体系自身的内部)——这个传统的方法不仅起不到冲击毒品市场的作用反而给发展、公众健康、人权和经济带来了许多消极的结果。因此,越来越多的国际动力呼吁改革我们的药物政策,使之成为更实用、更人性化和有依据的政策。虽然如此,国际药物控制体系继续对许多政府制订他们自己的政策和项目的途径上产生重要的影响。

通过协同工作和分享信息,IDPC主张一个现代化的国际药物控制体系。在每一个多边情境下,药物政策事件被争论(见下),我们与我们的成员和其它伙伴一起找准机会来提升人性化和有效的政策,为政策的倡导者和制订者提供分析和建议,并进行统筹宣传工作。

目前,IDPC的全球性倡导工作主要集中于将会在2016年的夏天召开的联合国大会关于药品的特殊部分(UNGASS)。我们旨在引起政府和联合国部门的重视,并通过会议、对话和媒体的参与来宣告他们的立场。我们也与维也纳关于毒品的非政府组织委员会(VNGOC)和纽约关于毒品的非政府组织委员会(NYNGOC)合作来确保公民社会充分参与到了联合国大会特别会议的过程。

 

全球药品控制系统

以下的国际机构和部门是药品政策争论的核心也是目前药品控制系统的执行者:


联合国大会 (GA)

 联合国大会(GA)是主要负责审议,决策和联合国系统的代表机构。所有193个会员国共同讨论联合国宪章所涵盖的整个范围的国际问题。在联合国大会中,所有成员国都拥有平等的地位和投票权,它们负责监督联合国的预算,任命非常任理事国成员进入安理会,接收来自联合国其他机构的报告以及以大会决议的形式提出一些建议。联合国大会每年于9月到12月在纽约召开。应成员国的要求,联合国大会也对于受关心的问题召集“特殊会议”,比如在2016年会员大会就会对于药品问题召开“特殊会议(UNGASS)”。


经济和社会理事会ECOSOC

经济和社会理事会(ECOSOC)是一个协调联合国经济,社会及其他相关工作的主要机关。它负责监督联合国有关机构和委员会,包括它每年正式采用的提供报告和决议的麻醉药品委员会(CND)。经济和社会理事会是对经济和社会问题的政策进行讨论和制定的核心论坛。经济和社会理事会有54个成员,所有的成员都由联合国大会选举产生,任期三年。每年经济和社会理事会的总统是从小或中层国家所派来参加理事化的代表中产生。经济和社会理事会于每年的七年召开一次为期四周的会议,会议的地点在纽约和日内瓦之间交替选择。经济和社会理事会还全年定期与著名学者、商界代表和注册的非政府组织举行会议。


麻醉药品委员会 (CND)

麻醉药品委员会 (CND)是为联合国药品控制系统服务的决策中心。它是由53个联合国成员国组成的。同时,为了确保地域的代表性,尽管其它国家可以以观察者的身份参与进来,它还是由经济和社会理事会选举产生。在麻醉药品委员会上,各会员国讨论了全球毒品的形势,采取了一系列相关问题的决议。麻醉药品委员会也是关于国际卫生组织提议的对一种物质的记录在内,取消记录在内和再记录的最终决策者。麻醉药品委员会也负责监督联合国药物和犯罪问题办公室(UNODC)。


联合国药物和犯罪问题办公室 (UNODC)

联合国药物和犯罪问题办公室是负责协调国际毒品管制活动的机构。它成立于1997年,它的建立是由于联合国药品控制项目和国际预防犯罪中心之间的合并。联合国药物和犯罪问题办公室的工作方案有三个支柱,重点是研究和分析工作,指导各成员国,和以实地为基础的项目。

 


国际麻醉品管制局 (INCB)

国际麻醉品管制局是由国际禁毒公约所创建的,它扮演着独立监督国际药物控制系统的角色。它是由13个个人成员组成,这些成员由他们的个人能力提供服务。国际麻醉品管制局确保充分地提供全球性的以科学和医疗为目的管制药品;帮助防止各种各样的管制药品和前体化学品进入非法市场;识别药物管制制度的弱点;和保持与各国政府对话以协助他们履行其义务。
 




世界卫生组织 (WHO)

世界卫生组织是一个总部设在日内瓦的,专注于国际公共健康的联合国机构,它的区域和国家办公室遍布全世界。它的首要任务包括传染病(如艾滋病),非传染性疾病,性和生殖健康,老化,营养和食品安全,职业健康和健康系统。在国际禁毒公约,世界卫生组织负责的回顾科学和医学的建议来记录一个物质。这是通过它的药物依赖专家委员会(ECDD)来实现的。然而,在近几十年,它面临了资金和资源的短缺来合理地履行这一职责。
 


关于艾滋病毒和艾滋病的联合规划署 (UNAIDS)

关于艾滋病毒和艾滋病的联合规划署不是一个药品控制主体,但是它与全球药物问题休戚相关。联合国药物和犯罪问题办公室和世界卫生组织联合资助支持关于艾滋病毒和艾滋病的联合规划署的运作。联合国药物和犯罪问题办公室领导关于艾滋病毒和艾滋病的联合规划署对有艾滋病的吸毒者和携带艾滋病毒的囚犯进行回应。为了切实解决艾滋病毒,药物管制政策与关于艾滋病毒和艾滋病的联合规划署的工作和目标保持一致至关重要。

 

 

 

有关药物管制的联合国公约

全球性的药物控制系统意识到没有一个国家可以单独去管理药物的使用,因为这些药物是如此容易购买和跨越国界和地区进行销售。有效的控制需要作为国际社会成员的各国共同努力。

三个公约组成了目前国际药物管制的框架:

与一个世纪前它们的前辈一样,这些公约保持着一样的目标:限制生产、分发和为了科学医疗目的使用药物。然而,尽管公约关心“人类的健康和福利”,大量的焦点一直放在严格控制药物和压制性的执法措施,与此同时,提供药品用于医疗和科研用途却一直被忽视或受阻。结果世界大部分人口得不到足够的缓解疼痛的药物。

几乎所有的政府都签署了这三个药物管制条约。在药物管制这个问题上,这些条约的签署已连续多年被当成为国际共识和合作的精神的典范。但最近这些政府开始越来越认识到系统的不完善,并需要从根本上复审

One key part of IDPC’s mission is to directly influence – and support our members to engage with – the debates and decision-making processes at the global level, particularly at the United Nations and other multilateral agencies.

The global drug control framework is more than 100 years old, and has traditionally focused on a harsh “war on drugs” rhetoric, tough law enforcement and severe punishments. Yet there is now widespread recognition – including from within the UN system itself – that this approach has failed to impact upon drug markets, and has had serious negative consequences on development, public health, human rights and the economy. As a result, there is a growing global momentum calling to reform our drug policies in favour of more pragmatic, humane and evidence-based approaches. Nonetheless, the international drug control system continues to have a strong influence on the way that many governments frame their own policies and programmes.

Through collaborative work and information sharing, IDPC advocates for a modernisation of the international drug control system. In each of the multilateral settings where drug policy issues are debated (see below), we work with our members and other partners to identify opportunities to promote humane and effective policies, prepare analysis and recommendations for advocates and policy makers, and co-ordinate advocacy efforts.

IDPC’s global advocacy work is currently focused on the UN General Assembly Special Session (UNGASS) on drugs, which will be held in the summer of 2016. We aim to raise awareness among governments and UN agencies, and to inform their positions through meetings, dialogues and media engagement. We are also collaborating with the Vienna NGO Committee on Drugs (VNGOC) and the New York NGO Committee on Drugs (NYNGOC) to ensure that civil society is adequately engaged in the UNGASS process.

 

The global drug control system

The following international structures and agencies are central to drug policy debates and the implementation of the current drug control system:


The United Nations General Assembly (GA)

The GA is the primary deliberative, policy-making and representative organ of the UN system, where all 193 member states come together to discuss the entire spectrum of international issues covered by the UN Charter. All member states possess equal status and voting rights within the GA, which oversees the UN’s budget, appoints non-permanent members to the Security Council, receives reports from other UN bodies, and makes recommendations in the form of General Assembly resolutions. GA meetings take place in New York each year, between September and December. At the request of member states, the GA also convenes ‘Special Sessions’ on issues of concern, as will be the case in 2016 when the General Assembly will host a special session (UNGASS) on drugs.

 

The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

ECOSOC is the principal organ coordinating the economic, social and other related work of the UN. It oversees the relevant UN agencies and commissions, including the Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND) whose reports and resolutions it formally adopts each year. ECOSOC is the central forum for discussions and the formulation of policy recommendations on economic and social issues. ECOSOC has 54 members, all of whom are elected by the General Assembly for a three-year term. An ECOSOC President is elected each year from the small or mid-ranking nations represented on the Council. ECOSOC meets once a year in July for a four-week session, alternating between New York and Geneva. ECOSOC also holds regular meetings throughout the year with prominent academics, business sector representatives and registered NGOs.

 

The Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND)

The CND is the central policy-making body for the UN drug control system. It is comprised of 53 UN member states, elected by ECOSOC to ensure geographical representation, although other countries can attend as observers. At the CND, member states discuss the global drug situation and adopt a series of resolutions on related issues. The CND is also the final decision maker on proposals by the World Health Organisation to schedule, de-schedule or re-schedule a substance. CND also oversees the UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC).

 

The UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)

UNODC is the UN agency responsible for coordinating international drug control activities. It was established in 1997 through a merger between the UN Drug Control Programme and the Centre for International Crime Prevention. UNODC has a three-pillar work programme focusing on research and analytical work, guidance to member states, and field-based projects.

 

The International Narcotics Control Board (INCB)

The INCB was created by the international drug conventions, and plays the role of independent monitor for the international drug control system. It comprises 13 individual members serving in their personal capacity. The INCB ensures adequate global supply of controlled drugs for scientific and medical purposes; helps prevent the diversion of controlled drugs and precursor chemicals into illicit markets; identifies weaknesses in drug control systems; and maintains dialogue with governments to assist them in complying with their obligations.


The World Health Organization (WHO)

WHO is the UN agency specialising in international public health, and is headquartered in Geneva with regional and national offices across the world. Its priorities include communicable diseases (such as HIV), non-communicable diseases, sexual and reproductive health, aging, nutrition and food security, occupational health, and health systems. In the international drug conventions, WHO is charged with the scientific and medical review of proposals to schedule a substance – via its Expert Committee on Drug Dependence (ECDD). However, in recent decades, it has faced a shortage of funding and resources to fulfil this role properly.


The Joint United Nations Programme on HIV and AIDS (UNAIDS)

UNAIDS is not a drug control body, but it has a key relationship with the global drugs issue. UNODC and WHO are among the co-sponsors of UNAIDS, with UNODC taking the leading role in the UNAIDS response to HIV among people who use drugs and people living with HIV in prison. To realistically address HIV, it is vital that drug control policies are aligned with the work and objectives of UNAIDS.

 

 

 

The UN conventions on drug control

The global drug control system was inspired by the realisation that no country could regulate drug use in isolation, since these substances were so readily bought and sold across borders and jurisdictions. Effective control would require states to work together as an international community.

Three conventions make up the current international drug control framework:

The overall objective of these conventions remains the same as their predecessors from a century ago – to limit the production, distribution and use of drugs to scientific and medical purposes. However, despite the conventions being concerned with the “health and welfare of mankind”, the overwhelming focus has been placed on the strict control of drugs and on repressive law enforcement measures, while the provision of drugs for medical and scientific uses has been neglected or obstructed. As a result, much of the world population goes without adequate pain relief.

Nearly all governments have signed up to these three drug control treaties, which have been viewed for many years as exemplifying the spirit of international consensus and cooperation on this issue. Recently, however, there has been a growing realisation that the system is far from perfect, and needs to be fundamentally reviewed.